Board Overview
The Cooperative Preschool is a non-profit, autonomous, small business that makes its own decisions regarding business, policy, finances, and teacher selection. All decisions are made by a majority vote of the membership. Each year, the membership elects a Board to assume the roles of leadership.

The board:

  • Meets monthly. Meetings are open to the membership.
  • Plans agenda for parent meetings.
  • Recommends action to the Preschool membership on policy or financial matters.
  • Serves as a problem solving resource for the Preschool.
  • Is responsible for handling Preschool matters during the summer.

The Board is made up of parents, teachers and parent instructors, and monthly meetings are open to any member of the school who wishes to attend. Minutes from each meeting will be posted here, so parents can be aware of issues that are currently effecting their school.

If members have issues that they would like raised at a board meeting, please contact a Parent Coordinator, who will ensure that any comments or concerns are raised at the next meeting. If there is something of a more sensitive nature, please contact one of the Co-Chairs directly. Parents are also encouraged to attend meetings to bring up specific issues in person and participate in the discussion.

2020- 2021 VMCP Board

Co-Chairs Anna Waldman & Marissa Tsaniff
Treasurer Vanessa Richter
Development Chair
Health & Safety Chair Liz Sasser
P.A.C. Liaison
Toddler Parent Coordinator Halee Dams
2-3 Parent Coordinator Melissa Beal
3-4 Parent Coordinator Whitney Rose
4-5 Parent Coordinator Michelle Howe/ Maria Porter Steward
Operations Manager Maria Porter Steward
Public Relations Chairs Alison Blomgren
Lead Teacher (2/3, 3/4, 4/5 classes) Molly Wilson
Toddler Teacher Ginger Rushford
Parent Instructor (Toddler & 2/3) Tami Brockway Joyce
Parent Instructor (3/4 and 4/5) Betty Peralta